Post by wilsonthenarc on Nov 12, 2015 17:18:18 GMT
I didn't see a formal rules thread anywhere else on the forum. I know that we (mostly) know the 8th rules well, but stuff always comes up.
Especially now that the world is fragmenting into this version of 8th, that version of 8th, Aos, 9th Age, etc. I feel it could be of great value for our group to have a common spot for rules queries and FAQs. You know, in case we (our group) ever wishes to host a tourney. It would be easier to have all the FAQs in one spot. Just like there is the ETC comp set and ETC FAQ, I could envision the EEFL FAQ.
Post by wilsonthenarc on Nov 12, 2015 17:29:07 GMT
Here is the inaugural rules question (FAQ) - RE: characters joining units of a different troop type and/or a different base size. Typically, I find that the rules [troop type] and [base size] are one in the same, meaning if a character has a different troop type, it will have a different base size.
My question: How could 3 INF sized characters, 20mm x 20mm, join a unit of MI? My example is Tomb Kings, a big ol' unit of 8 Ushabti and I want to have a Tomb Priest AND a Necrotect AND a Liche Priest all join them.
For 1 or 2 characters - I would think they go on the side. Maybe 1 20mm guy on 1 side and another 20mm guy on the other side. Both front rank.
What about if I went nutty and had 4 characters. 4 characters (all at 20mm sq) would displace the same area as 1 40mm sq model. Could I then put them front and center, with 2 characters in rank 1.5?
That's a really good question. I'd think that you could arrange them in any fashion you wanted, so long as you're even with it. Meaning, you couldn't put three characters, one behind the other in the middle, and one on the outside edge, or behind the Ushabti.
Lets say you have 8 Ushabti, in 2 rows, 4 wide. I'd think that if you were to put a character in the unit, he'd have to go in either the front rank or in the back, but he'd suffer as though he refused a challenge - no casting magic from the back. If you add a second character, he could go in the front rank or behind the first, equal to the number of rows. The third would have to go into the second rank so that you are not wider than you are deep or start a third row. The fourth would be the same. And so on.
None of the characters would get the benefit of Look Out Sir! though. That's the problem with being a lone Orc among Goblins...
The first one looks fine to me, but I don't think that the second one would be legit. I think you'd have to match the rank and file order of the Ushabti. Stringing three characters out to the side would violate that structure, IMO. Since an Ushabti's base size is 40x40, then I think that you'd have to have more than 4 characters in a block pattern before you could bring 3 characters side by side. Even then, you might have to start the second (block of 4) behind the first or simply move one of the front rank Ushabti to the back.
11223344TN 11223344LC 55667788 55667788
XY223344TN ZB223344LC 5566778811 5566778811
I'll see if I can demonstrate with pics of models tonight.
Is there something specific you have in mind that you're trying to achieve?
Sure, Necrotects giving Ushabti Hatred. 2 Necro's joining one unit 4 or 5 wide. I want 1 Necrotect on the faaaar right side of the unit and 1 Necrotect on the faaaaar left side of the unit. This minimizes the chances an opponent has to kill both Necrotects in the first round of combat.
Post by avatarofbugman on Nov 14, 2015 17:01:37 GMT
What do you mean. Basically the command for the unit has to be in front, and them characters if they fit. Otherwise the organization is up to you, as it is logical that they would do what they were "told". Remember, the EEFL mantra is to keep the BRB in tact and adjuat, as needed, army books over time.