Post by FvonSigmaringen on Feb 2, 2020 10:35:07 GMT
Unless specifically stated otherwise, normal rules apply. All spells follow the general casting rules as well as the additional casting rules of their specific spell type - unless specifically stated otherwise. The fact that BA (or other spells) use a phrase "all every enemy unit within X" is not a specific statement to the contrary. Hence, BA cannot target units in CC, nor, indeed, units outside the Wizard's forward arc.
ETC and Swedish Comp have both FAQ'd that this spell (along with lord Kroak's) hit enemies in combat and in a bubble around the model. In absence of an official FAQ I would be inclined to leverage the weight of both these systems.
From a balance perspective it makes sense, any other interpretation renders both the engine of the gods and lord Kroak absolutely useless. My gaming group play it this way and have found through play testing that it is by no means overpowered.