Post by taldarinzphoenix on Feb 3, 2023 17:01:13 GMT
I played a 2500 pt game against skaven yesterday, and the skaven player and I had a little rules confusion which we then rolled off for, and he won the roll.
I had a unit of models in combat with a screaming bell+stormvermin, he moved a plague furnace up to the flank of my unit and said he could use the backwards-flame template attack across my unit while it was engaged with the enemy. I said you cant target models in close combat with template attacks, but when we looked there was no such restriction in the flamer section of the rules, and he also said that it wasn't necessarily a shooting attack, and wasnt subject to that restriction.
can you point to a rule in either the 8th ed BRB or skaven army book that helps clear up whether you can do this or not? thank you
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Feb 4, 2023 0:07:13 GMT
The general principle regarding shooting into close combat, can be found on BRB p. 39: "Models are not permitted to shoot at enemies that are engaged in close combat, for the simple reason that there's too much danger of hitting a friend![...]
Some war machine weapons, particularly those that use templates, can accidentally hit friends whilst aiming at the enemy. The key word here is 'accidentally' — you cannot purposefully aim a template so that some of your models will be hit."
Since the normal Fire Thrower does not have a fixed range, there is always a risk that it will overshoot a target, and accidentally hit units in CC. Although The Plague Furnace uses the flame template, it cannot "accidentally" hit something that was not targeted, and, therefore, cannot fire into close combat (except if it involves Skaven Slaves).
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Feb 4, 2023 23:12:44 GMT
Quite so. Although, that was (as so often) a bit superfluous, since (as I keep repeating), unless specifically stated otherwise, normal rules apply. But it should help to drive the "normal" point home - except it often does not.