Can a Slann cast Direct Damage and Magic Missiles when his unit is engaged in combat and they have a rank of infantry in front of them and are not otherwise engaged? I looked for an FAQ, but apparently GW did not release one for these guys.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Mar 25, 2023 8:25:07 GMT
What rahotep75 says. There is, indeed, no Update Version for the 8th edition Lizardmen AB. However, most rules questions can be easily resolved by adhering to this basic principle: unless specifically stated otherwise, normal rules apply.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Mar 25, 2023 23:07:55 GMT
To add: obviously, this does not apply if a Slann Mage uses the Arcane Vassal special rule of a Skink Priest.
Lizardmen AB. p. 36: "A Slann Mage-Priest (including Lord Kroak and Lord Mazdamundi) can choose to cast any magic missile or direct damage spell through a model with this special rule within 24" of him. If he does so, measure the spell’s range from the Arcane Vassal and use that model’s forward arc and line of sight for the purposes of casting the spell. If using an Arcane Vassal, a Slann Mage-Priest can cast magic missiles, even if his own unit is engaged in close combat (provided that the Arcane Vassal’s is not)."