Post by FvonSigmaringen on Jul 3, 2018 18:53:16 GMT
Witch Hunter: you could add that the unit he is in will also treat Terror as Fear. In addition, the Ruby Ring of Ruin (or an appropriate spell of the Ring of Volans) will also have the KB special rule against the target of the Witch Hunter’s Accusation special rule. Not the Sniping special rule, mind you: when using the RRR, you cannot single the target out, if it has joined a unit. That said, if there are fewer than five rank-and-file models in the unit, or if the target is of a different troop type, there is always a chance that the target could be hit.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Jul 5, 2018 9:43:15 GMT
The WH is perhaps one of our best bargains: MR 2 alone is generally priced at 30 points. So, basically you get a character with various other special rules for 20 points. To add: just like the HBVG, the Witch Hunter can have a psychological effect, in as much the accused may try to avoid his day in court. Just a pity that the WH cannot take a repeater pistol - or handgun...
Mottdon, I just started reading this guide as I am now building a new army of the Empire.
I always wanted to try them, and I have to say that all the info you put in there is very valuable.
FvonSigmaringen, thank you for all your precisions as well. You guys rock, thanks !
By the way, I have a question about the WH. If I equip him with a brace of pistols, then he's got 4 shots with a 12 inch range right ? If I want to do a sniper shot, it means that instead of doing my 4 shots normally, I do a single shot with the sniper rule ?
So even if I do a single Sniper shot, I still need to be within 12' inch in this case.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Jul 19, 2018 7:16:18 GMT
Alas, no! A brace of pistols will give the WH only two shots. To have 4 shots you need to have a brace of pistols including a repeater pistol, but that is not an upgrade available to the WH - although IMHO it should have been.
And yes, you do exchange the normal shooting attacks for a single sniper shot, but otherwise within the limitation of the shooting weapon you are using. The sniper shot will, of course, also enjoy the other benefits form the Accusation special rule. Remember, however, that you cannot use it to S&S.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Jul 19, 2018 11:02:37 GMT
A weapon with the Move or Fire special rule cannot be fired in the Shooting phase, if the model moved earlier in the turn. However, the Vanguard move takes place before the first turn. Therefore, such units do not count as having moved for the purposes of shooting. The only stated restriction on units that have made a Vanguard move is that they cannot declare a charge in the first turn, if their army goes first.
Sorry, if I missed some of this discussion. Fidelis is correct in these cases. With the Witch Hunter, the real reason you'd want to take the BoP is for the additional attack in CC it'll give him. He still retains the Accusation special rule, but now he has 3 chances to employ it. The BoP doesn't really help with the Accusation Sniper Shot, unless the character is alone - in which case you don't have to "Snipe" him (but that is seen very rarely anyway) for the reasons Fidelis stated above. You also have to consider the target. Is he heavily armored, is he fast (ASF or higher Initiative), how likely is he to trash your unit? The WH is a great deal, and comes with a lot of option all on his own, but still has a 50 point magic item allowance. I rarely give him any magic items because the BoP or Great Weapon will do pretty much everything that I need him to do. If anything, the OTS will work well with him, but just be sure not to have him near a friendly character with a ward save. The Glittering Scales can also work well, if you expect him to go several rounds in challenges.
Vanguarding with the Outriders at the beginning of the game is really how these guys need to be played. That first volley of shooting can quickly turn the tide of an entire game in your favor. BE SURE NOT TO GIVE THEM BARDING THOUGH AS THAT WILL NOT ALLOW THEM TO VANGUARD! You don't want these guys in CC. Run a screen of Pistoliers for them if you need to. Also, remember, if you are taking Outriders in order to Vanguard them in this manner, be sure to take a unit of Huntsmen to scout ahead of them and ensure that the Outrider's Vanguard move isn't blocked by any opponent's Vanguarding units that might get to deploy before yours. I've experienced this way too many times and it will ruin your game strategy before the first turn. You'll have to start the game with an improvised, back-up plan and that usually doesn't go very well.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Jul 20, 2018 16:01:41 GMT
Regarding the Steam Tank:
- Strictly speaking, it is not correct that the Steam Tank can only attack in your own turn: the Engineer does have a single S3 Attack. Cast Birona on the ST, and the Engineer will even have TWO S3 Attacks with ASF!
- The idea that with more wounds the Steam Tank becomes more of a hazard seems to me a relic of the 7th edition. You just have to remember never to generate more than 4 Steam Points, unless you purposely aim for an SVBIED (Suicide Vehicle Borne Imperial Engineering Device). If you only generate 4 Steam Points, and get a misfire, any result of the Steam Boiler Mishap table will have no to little effect, not even "Dangerous Overpressure," since the Mishap Table does not say the Steam Tank cannot use its armour save (or ward save, in case the Luminark would be within 6"). "Emergency Vent" can even be useful in CC, since the S2 hits are more likely to damage most opponents than the Steam Tank.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Jul 20, 2018 16:21:55 GMT
To add: it is important to remember that the Steam Tank is a chariot, and, as such, treats all terrain other than open ground as being dangerous terrain, and will suffer D6 wounds in case of a failed Dangerous Terrain test - with no armour saves allowed.