Can a unit starting in open terrain reform even if it means they will be partially in a wood? (and does it trigger dangerous terrain tests for Cavalry).
Example: A unit Tomb King Chariots charge into the flank of my Knight unit, sandwiching them against some woods. My knights actually manage to win the combat and decide to turn around. This then means about half the knights would have to swivel into the woods.
I think this is acceptable (and no dangerous terrain is triggered as I haven't charged/marched/overrun/fled or pursued).
CCC KKKK-> WOODS WOODS
C= Chariot K= Knights -> = Initial Facing of Knights before 90 degree turn Woods = Woods
It seems like if you did the reform in the movement phase then it would trigger dangerous terrain tests for the cavalry. So yes I think it would also cause dangerous terrain tests for a combat reform. But I have not looked up the exact wording of the rules.