A Breath Weapon is used at the models Initiative, does this take into account the penalty for Great Weapons as well as the Frostheart Phoenix's or the Thundertusk's Always Strikes Last aura? Or penalties and bonuses to Initiative?
Or is it always resolved at the Initiative on the models profile?
Take an Ogre Firebelly for example, when does he choose to use his breath Weapon when he has:
Nothing. Initiative 10 from the Gold Sigil Sword. A Great Weapon. The Sword Of Swift Slaying. A Frostheart Phoenix all up in his Grill. Birona's Timewarp. A penalty to Initiative from Melkoth's Mystifying Miasma.
A Breath Weapon is used at the models Initiative, does this take into account the penalty for Great Weapons as well as the Frostheart Phoenix's or the Thundertusk's Always Strikes Last aura?
BRB Official Update Version 1.9, p. 8: Q: Do Breath Weapon hits benefit from any other special rules, equipment or magic items of the model that inflicts the hits? (p67) A: No.
And more generally regarding weapons:
BRB Official Update Version 1.9, p. 6: Q: Does a weapon that gives a bonus to a characteristic only give that bonus when being used to attack a model?(p4)
A: Most weapons, including magic weapons, state when the bonus is given. For example, a model with the Fencer’s Blades will always have Weapon Skill 10 whilst a model with a great weapon will only have +2 Strength when striking an enemy in close combat. When a weapon does not say when the characteristic bonus applies, then it only applies when striking, or being struck, in close combat.
So, if you have a GW, the Strength bonus and the ASL special rule only come into play when you actually use this particular weapon.
Or penalties and bonuses to Initiative?
Penalties and bonuses to the Initiative from sources other than mentioned in the FAQ above (i.e. mainly spells) will affect Breath Weapons too, since the Breath Weapon special does not state "Initiative on the profile," or "unmodified Initiative."
Whoops, must have missed that in the FAQ, I need a copy with a search function. I guess the "benefits" wording always makes me wonder if penalties are supposed to apply, "affected by" probably should have been the wording. Either way that clarifies what they mean by at the models initiative. Thanks again.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Dec 6, 2022 12:43:39 GMT
1plussave: True that. GW generally refers to (the effect of) a special rule as a bonus or benefit, even if it is really not beneficial to those who are about to receive it. With spells and other effects, they usually do distinguish between a bonus and a penalty.