As we all know Giants are a ghosts only natural predator, which leaves me with a question regarding Giants and other creatures with "Removed as a casualty" attacks.
A Giant and Bonegrinder Giant has access to attacks that will kill a specific model, by crushing, eating, stuffing them into a bag (or its pants) and in one case kicking them backwards into their own unit.
Seeing as these abilities do not roll to wound, does this mean they work on Ethereal models? In a similar scenario to my previous questions about cannonballs; the Ethereal creatures only defence against non-magical attacks is their inability to be "Wounded" by them with no way to avoid being hit or targeted, they can be caught in nets even. Barring houserules, does this mean a Bonegrinder giant in particular that rolls a "Pick up and...", "Bear Hug", "Fall over" and "Kick" will kill Ethereal things just as if they were made of flesh?
For the sake of argument assuming we are only talking about abilities that cause a model to be "Removed as a Casualty" whether I have listed it or not.
No I am not just trying to justify buying a Mega-Gargant as a proxy.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Dec 12, 2022 12:29:27 GMT
And as we know, fluff has no bearing on the rules. I think the solution is to be found in an observation I made in an earlier thread: the French version of the BRB makes a clear distinction between blessure (a successful To Wound roll, before saves) and Point de Vie perdu (Life Point lost, i.e. an actualwound after saves).
The French version of the Ethereal rule states: "Les creatures etherées ne peuvent être blessées que par etc" [original Italics; bold mine]. Hence, Ethereals cannot be wounded by a To Wound roll, unless by magic, but they could lose Life Points, and, therefore, be removed as casualties, by non-magical means, that do not require To Wound rolls.
This is confirmed by BRB Official Update Version 1.9, p.8:
Q: If a model with the Ethereal and Unstable special rules loses combat, does it suffer an extra Wound for every point it lost combat by? (p68) A: Yes.
or in the French version (LdR Mise à Jour Officielle version 1.8h, p.7):
Q. Si une figurine avec les règles spéciales Éthérés et Instables perd un combat, perd-elle aussi un nombre de Points de Vie égal à la différence de résultat de combat ? (p68) [Italics mine] R. Oui.