Can the scroll of shielding be used on a spell cast with double 6’s/irresistible force? I feel like the wording leans towards not being able to do so. Scroll wording says a Wizard can use the scroll instead of attempting to dispel it to give the targeted unit a 4++ save against damage from the spell. Irresistible force says that a spell can’t be dispelled, though I don’t recall it saying you CANNOT ATTEMPT to dispel it even though it would automatically be unsuccessful.
Secondary question, would scroll of shielding provide the 4++ from lore attributes of that spell as well if they caused damage to the targeted unit?
Dug a little deeper and saw on BRBpg 33 that you indeed CANNOT even attempt to dispel a spell with irresistible force so the first question is answered I believe that a scroll of shielding cannot be used against a spell with irresistible force. Still looking for an answer to the second question though if anyone has insight on that. Thanks
My gut tells me can't "attempt to dispel" a spell cast with irresistible force. So no scroll of shielding either.
Second question is more interesting. The lore attribute for Lore of Metal directly affects the hits/wounds caused by the spells. You would get the scroll of shielding 4++ against those wounds for sure. Lore of Light and Lore of Heavens attributes add extra hits based on target type. Based on the precedent set by Lore of Metal, I think scroll of shielding 4++ would work against the extra hits.
For second question I believe yes. Not backing this up with anything more than "that's how I'd play it"
So if you were targetted by Doombolt where the caster had rolled doubles (but not sixes) and you allowed it through, using the scroll of shielding I think you could use it against any of the lore attribute wounds from Spiteful Conjuration.
Side question... Using the scroll of shielding against spells that target all units in a certain range (shroud of despair, deliverance of Itza) compared to using spells that jump (chain lightning or Plague or boosted foot).
My interpretation is I think using it against spells of the first variety it works on all wounds, and against spells of the second variety it works only against the initial targetted unit
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Jan 13, 2023 3:27:01 GMT
The first question was (somewhat superfluously) addressed by BRB Official Update Version 1.9, p. 7:
Q: Can there ever be more than one attempt at dispelling a spell per magic phase? Can a Wizard use a scroll if it isn’t allowed to make a dispel attempt, for example the spell was cast with irresistible force or the wizard has previously failed to dispel a spell that turn? (p35) A: No to both questions.
Regarding the second question, as far as I can tell, the BRB does not specifically state that the Lore Attribute as such is a spell effect, but it is indicated in the description of Roiling skies (BRB p. 497): "When a spell from the Lore of Heavens targets an enemy flying unit or a model with the Fly special rule, the target suffers , D6 Strength 4 hits, in addition to any other effects caused by the spell." So, in principle, yes, but it may depend on the exact wording of the Lore Attribute.