If a unit is in close combat with another unit that can only attack the unit champion (standard 'veteran' upgrade with 2 attacks, not a hero or lord), are they forced to attack only the champion, or do the attacks go onto the unit? (EG champion on corner with only 1mm or so of the unit touching etc)
I see a few touting this as a points denial strategy when combined with tough lords/hero's in the front rank.
If that is indeed correct, does it work In combination with the 'make way' rule?
Thanks both- I suppose it would be a very rare occurance- the charge would have to hit only the corner of the unit, and the unit champion would have to be positioned on the end
Depends. There is even a tactic for smaller units based on that premise: the conga line, where the unit consists of a single file, with the champion in front position. Particularly effective if that unit can have multiple champions, but frowned upon.
Doesn't the command group have to go in the center of the front rank? So it would either be 3-strong monstrous cav, or conventional cavalry that has been reduced to the command group where it comes into play, and even then only if you charge the side where the champion is.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Mar 17, 2023 15:15:51 GMT
vulcan: In 8th edition, the CG does not need to be in the centre anymore, just in the front rank. They do not even have to be next to each other.
BRB p. 92: "Any models that make up a unit's command group must be placed in the front rank of the unit, unless there is not enough room for them to fit. Where this happens, as many command group models as possible must be placed in the front rank and any remaining models are placed in the rank behind."