Guys where can I find the rules for the brace of pistols ?
In the Empire rulebook I only see the rules for brace of pistols including repeater handgun.
No rules for the brace of pistols alone ? It's confusing.
As well, Mottdon, you say in the guide that the Witch Hunter with brace of pistols can make 2 Sniper shots. Is that right ? When you do a Sniper shot do you have to replace your normal shooting attacks (in that case 2) in order to make a SINGLE sniper shot ? Or can you you just snipe 2 times, 1 with each pistol.
The wording in the rulebook is not super clear in the Sniper rule.
Rgarding Sniping: as you say, the wording is not super clear. I myself would say that you can make only a single sniper shot, based on the following reasoning:
The Sniper special rules says (BRB p. 77): "A model with the Sniper special rule can make a special Sniper shot instead of shooting normally."
Shooting normally is best understood as following the normal rules of shooting - which does not include the Multiple Shots special rule. Remember: if you have that rule, you still can always opt to fire only once, following the rules of normal shooting.
I tend to agree with Fidelis in this case. Logically, a Sniper shot would take more concentration and require some concerted aiming in order to pic off one individual in a mass of bodies. Especially with a pair of flintlock pistols!
The wording, as you say, isn't clear, at which point I attempt to utilize practical logic for a given situation. Ultimately, it's up to the players as to how they decide to play it.
FYI, I went back and re-worded his entry to reflect this and perhaps be a little more clear. Thanks for pointing it out!
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Oct 11, 2021 18:58:48 GMT
No, but I fear, there is not much to discuss. The specific exemption Detachments had in previous editions is now missing. Indeed, it is specifically stated that normal charging rules apply. Likewise, the Detachment's attacks are not resolved first any longer either.
The sequence is as follows:
1. Enemy unit declares a charge against Regimental Unit 2. Regimental Unit declares & resolves charge reaction other than Flee! 3. Detachment declares Counter Charge - the position of the enemy (who has not moved yet) determines which facing will be (counter) charged. 4. Enemy units move & complete charges 5. Detachment moves and completes charge, bringing its front facing into flush contact with the facing of the enemy unit that has been charged. 6. CC attacks are resolved in Initiative order.
BRB p. 21: "A charging unit's position when the charge is declared determines whether it charges into the front, flank or rear of the enemy unit. If the charging unit is in the target's frontal zone when the charge is declared then it charges into the front."
Empire AB p. 31:
If an enemy unit declares a charge against a Regimental Unit, and the Regimental Unit does not flee as a charge reaction, then each of its unengaged Detachments within 3" can make either a Support Fire or a Counter Charge action (see below), These actions are declared immediately after their Regimental Unit’s charge reaction.
Counter Charge If a Counter Charge action is declared, the Detachment makes an out of sequence move that is resolved as if it had just declared a charge against the charging unit. This move is made after your opponent has moved all of his charging units, as long as one or more enemy units has successfully completed a charge against the detachment’s Regimental Unit, The enemy does not get to make any charge reactions against a Counter Charge, but otherwise all the normal charging rules and bonuses apply.