Well if that's the case then the dark riders would declare their charge target, either the knight(s) or the Chaos Warriors. If you charge the knights then that's who they have to attack. If they charge the Warriors then they attack them. You don't get to attack both units.
See page 18: you can only declare a charge against a single unit unless it's impossible to ALSO declare a charge at another as well; you 'clip' the second unit.
Post by FvonSigmaringen on Dec 21, 2017 22:13:34 GMT
@ ryrak: Your last sentence seems a bit garbled. But as the BRB says: "If there is no way at all of completing the charge against an enemy unit without touching another (sometimes known as 'clipping') then the charging unit must also declare a charge against the other unit(s)."
I was assuming that had been the case here. If not, then, obviously, the Dark Riders cannot attack across the gap. You cannot attack what you have not charged [or have been charged by].
On a side note, the BRB categorically states on p. 22:
"There is one important principle that you should always keep in mind when charging: under no circumstances can a unit use its charge move to move into contact with an enemy it has not declared a charge against." there is a rather contradictory FAQ on the matter:
Trust GW to come up with a contradictory FAQ:
Official Update Version 1.9, p.6:
Q: If I can only maximise the number of models fighting by contacting another enemy unit, must I declare a charge against that unit? (p20) A: No.