Gents, in the most recent Elector Counts podcast, imrillion asked if our fine minds could give an opinion on a query.
During each friendly magic phase, a grey seer or warlock engineer with this item can, on a D6 roll of 5+, generate an extra power dice.
The question was: is this in addition to their normal channel.
I think it’s clear cut that it is in addition to a channel roll, as it doesn’t say anything about it improving their channel roll to a 5+ (or even that it’s a channel roll). A channel also works in every magic phase and not just a friendly one. The fluff also says the device draws extra energy from the winds of magic. I know fluff doesn’t really impact on rules but it seems to back up that it’s an additional roll to the channel (a RAI indication you could say).
Other than that fluff has no bearing whatsoever on the rules, no. Fluff can help you to decide a purely personal preference between two equally possible interpretations of a rule - which isn't the case here. RAW, the WEC rule does not even need to be applied during the Winds of Magic sub-phase - you can do it at any time during the friendly Magic phase.